Brief Summary

Read full entry

Today, primates are split into two major suborders: Strepsirrhini (lemurs, galagos, lorises, and pottos) and Haplorhini (tarsiers, New World Monkeys, Old World Monkeys, and apes). The Haplorhini suborder is further divided into three parvorders: Catarrhini (Old World Monkeys and apes), Platyrrhini (New World Monkeys), and Tarsiiformes (tarsiers). 

The catarrhines share the following distinctive features: downward facing nostrils, a lack of prehensile tail, flat fingernails and toenails, a tubular ectotympanic ear bone, eight premolars, and diurnal behavioral patterns. The catarrhine species are all native to either Africa or Asia.  


Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 (CC BY 3.0)

© Abigail Nishimura

Supplier: Abigail Nishimura

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!