Brief Summary

Read full entry

The spider family Titanoecidae has a globally broad distribution and includes 53 described species, four of which occur in North America north of Mexico (Platnick 2014). All four of these North American representatives are in the genus Titanoeca, which is common and distributed across the contiguous United States (excluding peninsular Florida) north to Alaska and southeastern Canada. In the field, titanoecids resemble small to medium-sized amaurobiids, but Cutler (2005) notes that in North America a spider seen in a relatively xeric (arid) habitat near the ground is more likely to be a titanoecid than an amaurobiid.

Like most spiders, titanoecids have eight eyes. The thin cribellate sheet webs are usually built under rocks and often look faintly bluish (Bradley 2013). The egg sacs are globular and suspended in the web (Cutler 2005).

A key to the North American titanoecids was provided by Leech (1972), who treated titanoecids as comprising a subfamily (Titanoecinae) within the family Amaurobiidae.(Cutler 2005; Platnick 2014).


Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 (CC BY 3.0)

© Leo Shapiro

Supplier: Leo Shapiro

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!