Sometimes taxonomists create new names for groups that already have a name. They may do this because they are unaware of the original name, or they may think the organism before them belongs to a different group when in fact it does not. If two or more names are found to apply to the same group, they are considered synonyms. In most cases, the first name takes priority and is considered to be the valid or accepted name. However, there can be exceptions, and it's not always easy to determine which of a series of synonyms should be considered valid or accepted. Here we list the synonyms provided to EOL by our classification partners. We also include other versions of the name that most likely refer to the same group, for example, misspellings in the literature or different variations of the authorship associated with the name.

Preferred marks the preferred name from each source.

NCBI Taxonomy

Name Relationship
Crambidae Preferred
Crambiidae Synonym


Name Relationship
Crambidae Preferred
Trigonophylla Turner 1937
Teratausta Hampson 1903
Anthophilopsis Ragonot 1891
Ecpyrrhorrhoea Hübner 1826
Chloëphila Costantini 1920
Cymorrhiza Hering 1903
Egesta Ragonot 1890
Endotrichodes Hampson 1919
Ecpyrrhorrhoa Agassiz 1845
Episcorsia Hübner 1826
Anthaeretis Carus 1887
Eoöphyla Swinhoe 1900
Anomostictis Warren 1892
Cybolomia Romanoff 1887
Camptomastyx Hampson 1896
Calliptychia Agassiz 1846
Pastranaia Munroe 1970
Meridiophila Marion 1963
Spartophaga Duponchel in Godart, 1836
Ecpyrrhorrhoë Hübner, 1825
Araxes Walker 1863
Noctuaelia Wocke in Staudinger & Wocke, 1871
Prionopteryx Caradja 1925
Syllepta Hübner, 1826
Uresiphoeta Agassiz 1846
Trichophyretis Pagenstecher 1909
Nagia Walker 1865
Chlorobapta Barnes & McDunnough 1914
Betonsa Walker 1866
Halterophora Meyrick 1897
Glaphria Fernald 1902
Polyctaenia Hübner 1826
Tulis Pagenstecher 1909
Titania Agassiz, 1846
Chiloides Bleszynski 1963
Chaleidoptera Carus 1888
Cynoeda Walker 1859
Haploscopa Hampson 1897
Agassizia Yoshiyasu 1987
Phalanta Ghesquière 1942
Botis Agassiz 1846
Macrochilo Snellen 1890
Musotina Caradja 1927
Aethaloëssa Lederer 1863
Sylepta Hübner, 1825
Adeloides Warren 1892
Adena Walker 1863
Thysanotia Agassiz 1846
Diplotalis Hampson 1919
Leimonia Hübner 1825
Bulina Walker 1866
Gabrisa Walker 1865
Tersatia Lederer 1863
Metasiodes Ragonot 1894
Ramilla West 1931
Thyridophora Turner 1927
Limonia Agassiz 1846


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!