Brief Summary

Read full entry


Diversity description:

The Anthelidae form a small family of moths restricted to Australia, New Guinea and the adjacent Aru archipelago. At present the family comprises 74 species in 8 genera described from Australia (Edwards and Fairey 1996) and 20 species from new Guinea in one endemic genus and one genus shared with Australia. However, numerous distinct species have already been identified as undescribed in museum collections such as the Australian National Insect Collection (ANIC). The large genus Anthela comprises 80% of all described species, but a taxonomic revision at the genus level by the author is in preparation. The vast majority of species belongs to the subfamily Anthelinae, while the Munychryiinae include only three described species in two genera.


Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial 3.0 (CC BY-NC 3.0)

Source: LepTree

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!