Brief Summary

Read full entry


Cerylonidae, commonly known as the minute bark beetles, is a family comprising roughly 450 species classified in 52 genera and 5 subfamilies: Ceryloninae, Euxestinae, Loeblioryloninae, Murmidiinae, and Ostomopsinae (Ślipiński & Lawrence, 2010). Although the family occurs in all major zoogeographic regions of the world, cerylonids are most diverse and abundant in the tropics and forested areas of the subtropics (Ślipiński, 1990).

Information regarding the specific habits and habitats of cerylonids is relatively scarce. Cerylonids are commonly found under bark of rotten logs and in decaying leaf litter, where they probably feed on fungal hyphae and spores or slime molds. A few species of Ceryloninae and Euxestinae are associated with ants [e.g., Mychocerus hintoni (with Atta mexicana), Hypodacne punctata (with Camponotus spp.), and Euxestoxenus spp. (with Myrmicaria spp.) (Ślipiński, 1990; Ślipiński & Lawrence, 2010)]. Termite associations are restricted to fungus growing termites (e.g., Odontotermes) and occur only among members of Euxestinae (e.g., Cycloxenus, Euxestoxenus) (Ślipiński & Lawrence, 2010). Adults of some African species of Metacerylon are associated with tunnels of wood boring insects (Schedl, 1962) (e.g., ambrosia beetles), most likely feeding on fungi farmed within these tunnels. Murmidius ovalis is associated with stored products that have been contaminated with molds or yeasts (Halstead, 1968; Ślipiński, 1990).


Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!