Comprehensive Description

Read full entry

General Description

There are more than 70 described species of Deroceras, but fewer than half are described well (Thompson 2008).

In the past there were 4 subgenera: Deroceras, Agriolimax, Plathystimulus and Lytopelte, but the criteria for such a subdivision were difficult to retain. Lytopelte is at present recognized as an independent genus. (Wiktor 2000, 2001).


Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial 3.0 (CC BY-NC 3.0)

© Paustian, Megan; (F. Welter Schultes)

Source: Terrestrial Slugs Web

Belongs to 1 community


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!