Sometimes taxonomists create new names for groups that already have a name. They may do this because they are unaware of the original name, or they may think the organism before them belongs to a different group when in fact it does not. If two or more names are found to apply to the same group, they are considered synonyms. In most cases, the first name takes priority and is considered to be the valid or accepted name. However, there can be exceptions, and it's not always easy to determine which of a series of synonyms should be considered valid or accepted. Here we list the synonyms provided to EOL by our classification partners. We also include other versions of the name that most likely refer to the same group, for example, misspellings in the literature or different variations of the authorship associated with the name.

Preferred marks the preferred name from each source.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)

Name Relationship
Macrouridae Gilbert and Hubbs, 1916 Preferred
Coryphaenoididae Junior synonym


Name Relationship
Macrouridae Gilbert and Hubbs, 1916 Preferred
Grenurus Parr, 1946 Synonym
Phalacromacrurus Maul & Koefoed 1950
Hemimacrurus Fraser-Brunner 1935
Melanobranchus Regan 1903
Garichthys Whitley 1934
Caelorinchus Giorna, 1809
Abyssicola Goode and Bean, 1896
Trachyrhynchus Bonaparte 1841
Lepidoleprus Risso 1810
Ateleobrachium Gilbert & Burke 1912
Hyomacrurus Gilbert & Hubbs 1920
Lucigadella Gilbert & Hubbs 1920
Oxymacrurus Bleeker 1874
Mystaconurus Günther, 1887
Quincuncia Gilbert & Hubbs 1920
Paramacrurus Bleeker 1874
Fuyangia Whitley 1931
Bogoslovius Jordan & Evermann 1898
Krohnius Cocco in Krohn, 1844
Bathigadus Fritsch 1890
Sokodara Iwamoto 1979
Cariburus Parr 1946
Dolloa Jordan 1900
Nematonurus Günther, 1887
Lepturus Gronow in Gray, 1854
Oxygadus Gilbert and Hubbs, 1920
Optonurus Günther, 1887
Coelocephalus Gilbert & Cramer 1897
Moseleya Goode & Bean, 1896
Macrurus Schneider 1801
Mahia McCann & McKnight 1980
Catonurus Carus 1888
Regania Jordan in Jordan & Starks, 1904
Parakumba Trunov 1981
Lepidosoma Swainson 1839
Oxycephas Rafinesque 1810
Oxycephus Swainson 1839
Lepidolepris Swainson 1839
Pawnurus Parr 1946
Chalinurus Günther, 1887
Atherodus Gilbert & Hubbs 1920
Lionurus Günther, 1887
Papyrocephalus Gilbert & Hubbs 1920
Coccolus Bonaparte, 1846
Hyostomus Jordan, 1920


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!