Sometimes taxonomists create new names for groups that already have a name. They may do this because they are unaware of the original name, or they may think the organism before them belongs to a different group when in fact it does not. If two or more names are found to apply to the same group, they are considered synonyms. In most cases, the first name takes priority and is considered to be the valid or accepted name. However, there can be exceptions, and it's not always easy to determine which of a series of synonyms should be considered valid or accepted. Here we list the synonyms provided to EOL by our classification partners. We also include other versions of the name that most likely refer to the same group, for example, misspellings in the literature or different variations of the authorship associated with the name.

Preferred marks the preferred name from each source.


Name Relationship
Labridae Cuvier, 1816 Preferred
Stetholulis Synonym
Marzapanus Facciolà, 1916
Antonichthys Bauchot and Blanc, 1961
Fowlerella Smith, 1957
Chaeropsodes Gilchrist and Thompson, 1909
Amorphocephalus Bowdich in T.E. Bowdich, 1825
Xyrichthys Quoy & Gaimard 1824
Lienardella Fowler and Bean, 1928
Hemipteronotus Lacepède, 1801
Iridio Jordan and Evermann, 1896
Cirrhilabrichthys Klausewitz, 1976
Xirichthys Cuvier 1829
Novaculops Schultz in Schultz, Chapman, Lachner & Woods, 1960
Heterochoerops Steindachner, 1866
Crenilabrus Oken, 1817
Pseudolepidaplois Bauchot and Blanc, 1961
Hologymnos Anonymous, 1802
Hypsigenys Günther, 1861
Cheilolabrus Alleyne and Macleay, 1877
Nammopalatus Rouault, 1858
Peaolopesia Smith, 1949
Hemitautoga Bleeker, 1862
Malacocentrus Gill, 1862
Semachlorella Fowler and Bean, 1928
Urichthys Swainson, 1839
Octocynodon Fowler, 1904
Chloricthys Swainson, 1839
Icthycallus Swainson 1839
Platiglossus Walbaum 1792
Dimalacocentrus Gill, 1863
Ctenocorissa Whitley, 1931
Tautagolabrus Weber 1913
Ichtycollus Swainson, 1839
Labrastrum Guichenot, 1860
Julius Lafont 1871
Thallurus Agassiz 1846
Rhytejulis Fowler and Bean, 1928
Macrochoerodon Fowler and Bean, 1928
Crassilabrus Swainson, 1839
Pseudanampses Bleeker, 1862
Lachnolaemus Agassiz, 1846
Hospilabrus Whitley, 1931
Ronchifex Gistel, 1848
Bermudichthys Nichols, 1920
Thysanocheilus Kner, 1864
Pimelometopon Gill, 1864
Choerojulis Gill, 1862
Suezia Smith, 1957
Halinanodes Whitley, 1931
Bodian Latreille 1804
Choerodonoides Kamohara, 1958
Euhypsocara Gill, 1863
Xyrula Jordan, 1890
Lunolabrus Whitley, 1933
Gymnopropoma Gill, 1863
Hologymnus Oken 1816
Emmeekia Jordan and Evermann, 1896
Julidio Jordan and Evermann, 1896
Neocirrhilabrus Cheng and Wang, 1979
Peneverreo Gomon, 2006
Priobodianus Gomon, 2006
Duohemipteronotus Fowler, 1956
Aspiurochilus Fowler, 1956
Cossyphus Valenciennes in Cuvier and Valenciennes, 1839
Paralepidaplois Gomon, 2006
Julis Gouan 1770
Julis Cuvier, 1814
Hinalea Jordan and Jordan, 1922
Diastodon Bowdich in Bowdich, 1825
Harpe Lacepède, 1802
Hemicoris Bleeker, 1862
Julus Swainson 1839
Choerops Rüppell, 1852
Cheilinoides Bleeker, 1851
Elops Commerson in Lacepède, 1801
Platychoerops Klunzinger 1879
Suillus Catesby, 1771
Torresia Castelnau, 1875
Trochocopus Günther, 1862
Thalliurus Swainson, 1839
Corycus Cuvier, 1814
Verreo Jordan and Snyder, 1902
Xiphochilus Bleeker, 1857
Artisia de Beaufort, 1939
Verriculus Jordan and Evermann, 1903
Lepidaplois Gill, 1862
Güntheria Bleeker 1862
Duymaeria Bleeker, 1856
Halichöres Rüppell 1835
Novacula Cuvier, 1815
Labroïdes Bleeker, 1851
Pseudojulis Bleeker, 1862
Hiatula Lacepède 1800
Guentheria Bleeker, 1862
Platyglossus Bleeker, 1862
Guntheria Bleeker, 1862
Pariolanthus Smith, 1968
Coricus Cuvier 1817
Hemijulis Bonaparte, 1841
Larrus Fleming 1822
Cheilnus Griffith in Cuvier, 1835
Cynaedus Swainson, 1839
Micropodus Rafinesque, 1815
Cheiliopsis Steindachner, 1863
Hemiulis Swainson, 1839
Acarauna Sevastianoff, 1802
Thalassosoma Agassiz 1846
Ampheces Jordan & Snyder 1902
Symphyodus Agassiz 1846
Cicla Walbaum 1792
Malopterus Buchanan (Hamilton) in McClelland, 1839
Epibolus Fleming 1822
Hemiulus Agassiz 1845
Neolabrus Steindachner, 1875
Neanis Gistel, 1848
Halicores Swainson 1839
Neojulis Randall 1996
Labus Schneider 1801
Pseudojulops Fowler, 1941
Anampsis Hoeven 1833
Aygula Rafinesque, 1815
Chelinus Lacepède 1802
Cossyphodes Bleeker, 1860
Halichores Rüppell, 1835
Eupemis Swainson, 1839
Chilinus Agassiz 1846
Gomphosis Swainson 1838
Elops Bonaparte, 1831
Cicla Artedi in Röse, 1793
Cicla Klein, 1776
Pusa Jordan and Gilbert, 1879
Platiglossus Klein, 1776
Tiricoris Whitley, 1955
Anampsodax Bleeker, 1875
Helops Browne, 1789


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!