Sometimes taxonomists create new names for groups that already have a name. They may do this because they are unaware of the original name, or they may think the organism before them belongs to a different group when in fact it does not. If two or more names are found to apply to the same group, they are considered synonyms. In most cases, the first name takes priority and is considered to be the valid or accepted name. However, there can be exceptions, and it's not always easy to determine which of a series of synonyms should be considered valid or accepted. Here we list the synonyms provided to EOL by our classification partners. We also include other versions of the name that most likely refer to the same group, for example, misspellings in the literature or different variations of the authorship associated with the name.

Preferred marks the preferred name from each source.


Name Relationship
Syngnathidae Preferred
Corythoichutys Synonym
Enchelyocampus Dawson & Allen 1978
Hemithylacus Kaup 1856
Gasterotokeus Heckel in Kaup, 1853
Oostethus Hubbs, 1929
Oxleyana Whitley 1937
Tiphle Rafinesque 1810
Mannarichthys Dawson 1977
Dentirostrum Herald & Randall 1972
Synghnathus Linnaeus, 1758
Pristidoryrhamphus Fowler 1944
Phillopteryx Castelnau 1872
Sygnathoides Kaup 1853
Jamsus Ginsburg 1937
Halicampoides Fowler 1956
Sygnatus Donndorff 1798
Dermatostethus Gill, 1862
Siphonostomus Kaup 1856
Simosyngnathus Fowler 1940
Bhanotichthys Parr 1930
Hemimarsupium Kaup 1853
Macleayina Fowler, 1907
Hippohystrix Whitley 1940
Larvicampus Whitley 1948
Paramicrophis Klausewitz 1955
Gastrotokeus Bleeker 1860
Belonichthys Peters 1868
Sygnathus Suckow 1799
Phanerotokeus Duncker 1940
Dorichthys Duncker 1909
Parabelonichthys Fowler 1943
Hymenelomus Duméril, 1870
Osphyolax Cope 1876
Acus Swainson, 1839
Runcinatus Whitley 1929
Doryramphus Bleeker 1860
Trachyrrhamphus Duncker 1902
Microsyngnathus Herald 1959
Hymenolomus Duméril 1870
Namocampus Weber 1913
Hyppocampus Duvernoy 1844
Castelnauina Fowler, 1908
Choeoroichthys Weber 1913
Farlapiscis Whitley 1931
Nannocampichthys Hora & Mukerji 1936
Yozia Jordan & Snyder 1901
Solenognathus Agassiz 1846
Atelurus Duméril 1870
Acanthognathus Duncker 1912
Hippocampus Perry, 1811
Siphonostoma Agassiz 1846
Lophocampus Dawson 1984
Syrictes Jordan & Evermann 1927
Bombonia Herre 1927
Acmonotus Philippi, 1896
Acestra Bonaparte 1846
Coelonotus Peters 1855
Siphostoma Rafinesque 1810
Typhlinus Rafinesque 1815
Scyphicus Rathke 1837
Pipettella Whitley 1951
Typhlus Duméril 1870
Simocampus Fritzsche 1980
Nematosoma Eichwald 1831
Dermatosthus Gill, 1863
Parasyngnathus Duncker 1915
Sygnanthus Berkenhout 1795
Nigracus Whitley 1953
Sygratus Link 1790
Protocampus Günther, 1870
Scyphius Risso, 1827
Sephostoma Swainson 1838
Signanthus Scopoli 1777
Kaupia Smith 1963
Doryrhamphinarum Kaup, 1856
Hippocampus Cuvier, 1816
Hippocampus Leach in Leach & Nodder, 1814
Acus Valmont de Bomare, 1791
Novacampus Whitley, 1955
Pterure Duméril, 1856
Halicampus Kaup 1853


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!