IUCN threat status:

Not evaluated

Comprehensive Description

Read full entry


Aquatic herbs. Stipules present. Leaves floating or submerged, alternate or in a rosette, simple (in ours). Flowers in clusters (in ours), generally 5-merous and (in ours) bisexual. Sepals free or ± so. Corolla gamopetalous, lobes membranous, often fimbriate or pilose. Ovary superior, 1-locular with 2(-5) parietal placenta. Fruit capsule, dehiscent or not. Seeds often numerous.


Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial 3.0 (CC BY-NC 3.0)

© Mark Hyde, Bart Wursten and Petra Ballings

Source: Flora of Zimbabwe

Belongs to 1 community


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!