Sometimes taxonomists create new names for groups that already have a name. They may do this because they are unaware of the original name, or they may think the organism before them belongs to a different group when in fact it does not. If two or more names are found to apply to the same group, they are considered synonyms. In most cases, the first name takes priority and is considered to be the valid or accepted name. However, there can be exceptions, and it's not always easy to determine which of a series of synonyms should be considered valid or accepted. Here we list the synonyms provided to EOL by our classification partners. We also include other versions of the name that most likely refer to the same group, for example, misspellings in the literature or different variations of the authorship associated with the name.

Preferred marks the preferred name from each source.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)

Name Relationship
Ericaceae Preferred
Epacridaceae Synonym

NCBI Taxonomy

Name Relationship
Ericaceae Preferred
Ericaceae Juss., 1789 Authority


Name Relationship
Ericaceae de Jussieu 1789 Preferred
Nagelocarpus Bullock, 1954
Botryostege O. Stapf, 1934
Tsusiophyllum Maximowicz, 1870
Syndesmanthus Klotzsch, 1838
Newberrya Torrey, 1864
Aniserica N. E. Brown in Thiselton-Dyer, 1905
Scyphogyne Decaisne in Brongniart, 1829-1834
Bruckenthalia H. G. L. Reichenbach, 1831
Stokoeanthus E. G. H. Oliver, 1976
Ampelothamnus J. K. Small, 1913
Desmothamnus J. K. Small, 1913
Thoracosperma Klotzsch, 1834
Codonostigma Klotzsch ex Bentham in A. P. de Candolle, 1839
Cladothamnus Bongard, 1833
Hexastemon Klotzsch, 1838
Xolisma Rafinesque, 1819
Chiogenes R. A. Salisbury et J. Torrey, 1843
Tripetaleia Siebold et Zuccarini, 1843
Eremotropa H. Andres, 1953
Arachnocalyx R. H. Compton, 1935
Lateropora A. C. Smith, 1932
Lysiclesia A. C. Smith, 1932
Tritomodon Turczaninow, 1848
Orphanidesia Boissier et Balansa, 1875
Englerodoxa Hoerold, 1909
Hymenanthes Blume, 1826
Uva-Ursi Duhamel du Monceau, 1755
Schweinitzia S. Elliott ex T. Nuttall, 1818
Lagenocarpus Klotzsch, 1838
Decamerium Nuttall, 1842
Paraleucothoë (T. Nakai) M. Honda, 1949
Sophoclesia Klotzsch, 1851
Eleutherostemon Herzog, 1915
Findlaya J. D. Hooker in Bentham et J. D. Hooker, 1876
Rigiolepis J. D. Hooker, 1873
Needhamia R. Brown, 1810
Empedoclesia Sleumer, 1934
×Gaulthettya W.H. Camp, 1939
Vireya Blume, 1826
Pentapterygium Klotzsch, 1851
Killipiella A. C. Smith, 1943
Grisebachia Klotzsch, 1838
Brossea C.E.O. Kuntze, 1891
Uvaursi Duhamel du Monceau, 1755
Corallobotrys J. D. Hooker in Bentham et J. D. Hooker, 1876
Monotropanthum H. Andres, 1961
Vitisidaea Séguier, 1754
Hugeria J. K. Small, 1903
Befaria Mutis in Linnaeus, 1771
Dendrium Desvaux, 1813
Erica Boehmer in C. G. Ludwig, 1760
Erica O. Kuntze, 1891
Andresia H. Sleumer, 1967
Paphia B. C. Seemann, 1869
Schizococcus Eastwood, 1934
Philippia Klotzsch, 1834
Ledum Linnaeus, 1753
Oxycoccus J. Hill, 1756
Eremiella R. H. Compton, 1953
Salaxis R. A. Salisbury, 1802
Leucothoë D. Don, 1834
Eremia D. Don, 1834
Hornemannia M. Vahl, 1810
Blaeria Linnaeus, 1753
Leiophyllum R. A. Hedwig, 1806
Kalmiella J. K. Small, 1903
Eremiopsis N. E. Brown in Thiselton-Dyer, 1906
Orthaca Klotzsch, 1851
Agauria (A. P. de Candolle) Bentham et J. D. Hooker, 1876
Chlorocodon (A. P. de Candolle) Fourreau, 1869
Anomalanthus Klotzsch, 1838
Platycalyx N. E. Brown in Thiselton-Dyer, 1905
Ericinella Klotzsch, 1838
Oreocallis Small, 1914
Meisteria Siebold et Zuccarini, 1846
Lepterica N. E. Brown in Thiselton-Dyer, 1905
Hypopitys J. Hill, 1756
Coilostigma Klotzsch, 1838
Coccosperma Klotzsch, 1838
Cassandra D. Don, 1834
Proclesia Klotzsch, 1851
Arcteria Coville 1901
Polyboea Klotzsch, 1851
Nuihonia Dop in Lecomte, 1930
Acrostemon Klotzsch, 1838
Rhodora Linnaeus, 1762
Neopieris N. L. Britton in N. L. Britton et A. Brown, 1913
Pentapera Klotzsch, 1838
Brossaea Linnaeus, 1753
Eurygania Klotzsch, 1851
Periclesia A. C. Smith, 1932
Desmogyne G. King et D. Prain, 1898
Vintenatia Cavanilles 1797
Vacciniopsis Rusby, 1893
Decaspora R. Brown, 1810
Ramischia Opiz ex Garcke, 1858
Nabea Lehmann ex Klotzsch, 1833
Socratesia Klotzsch, 1851
Simocheilus Klotzsch, 1838
Sympieza J. J. Roemer et J. A. Schultes, 1818
Thamnus Klotzsch, 1838
Ardisia J. Gaertner, 1790
Boretta Necker ex Baillon, 1891
Arcterica Coville, 1901
Azalea Linnaeus, 1753
Neojunghuhnia S.H. Koorders, 1909
Siphonostema A.H.R. Grisebach, 1857


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!