Brief Summary

Read full entry
There are six living species of nautilus. They are called “living fossils” because they have existed for about 550 million years. Nautiluses live in shells that are divided into chambers. As they grow, they move into a new, larger chamber and close the old one.


Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial 3.0 (CC BY-NC 3.0)

© Sebastian Velvez

Supplier: Life on Earth

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!