Brief Summary

Read full entry

The snake genus Boiga is widely distributed across much of Asia, with representatives occurring from Iran, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan eastward through Tajikstan, Afghanistan, and India east to eastern China (including Taiwan and Hainan Island). The northern boundary of the distribution extends along the southern regions of Central Asia, northern India and Nepal, and southern China. Boiga are found as far south as Sri Lanka, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, and the Indo-Australian Archipelago (including the Philippines). One species is found in Australia (Northern Territory, Queensland, and New South Wales in eastern Australia), and northwestern Melanesia (New Guinea and Solomon Islands). (Orlov & Ryabov 2002)

Orlov & Ryabov (2002) provided an annotated list of the Boiga taxa they recognized at that time:

Boiga andamanensis (Andaman Islands, Bay of Bengal, India)

Boiga angulata (Philippine Islands: Catanduanes, Leyte, Luzon, Mindanao, Negros, Polillo)

Boiga barnesi (Sri Lanka)

Boiga beddomei (Sri Lanka, southern India [Western Ghats])

Boiga ceylonensis (Sri Lanka, India [Western Ghats, Andaman Islands])

Boiga cyanea (Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, mainland Malaysia, Myanmar, eastern India [West Bengal, Sikkim, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya], Bhutan, Bangladesh, China [Yunnan])

Boiga cynodon (Indonesia [Nias, Mentawai Islands, Sumatra, Riau Archipelago, Bangka, Billiton, Borneo, Java, Bali, Sumbawa, Flores], Malaysia [peninsular and Borneo], Singapore, Penang Island, Myanmar, Cambodia, Thailand, eastern India, Philippine Islands [Basilan, Culion, Leyte, Luzon, Mindanao, Palawan, Polillo])

Boiga dendrophyla dendrophyla (Java)

Boiga dendrophyla annectens (Borneo)

Boiga dendrophyla divergens (Philippine Islands: Luzon, Polillo])

Boiga dendrophyla gemmicincta (Sulawesi, Indonesia)

Boiga dendrophyla latifasciata (Philippine Islands: Mindanao, Samar)

Boiga dendrophyla melanota (Only subspecies of B. dendrophyla not limited to islands; found in Thailand, Peninsular Malaysia, Singapore, Penang Island, Indonesia [eastern Sumatra, Riau Archipelago, Bangka, Billiton], Cambodia, Vietnam [Riau Archipelago, Bangka, Billiton])

Boiga dendrophyla multicincta (Philippine Islands [Balabac, Palawan])

Boiga dendrophyla occidentalis (Indonesia [Nias, Pulau, Babi, Batu Islands, western Sumatra])

Boiga dightoni (southern India [Kerala State])

Boiga drapiezii (Thailand, Malaysia [peninsular Malaysia and Borneo], Singapore, Indonesia [Java, Mentawai Islands, Sumatra, Natuna Islands, Borneo])

Boiga forsteni (Sri Lanka, southern and eastern India, southeastern Nepal)

Boiga fusca fusca (Australia [Northern Territory and Queensland, except for the Victoria River basin valleys, eastward to the western coast of the Cape York Peninsula], New Guinea

Boiga fusca ornata (Western Australia and Victoria River to Northern Territory)

Boiga gokool (India [southern Sikkim, Bengal, Assam], Bangladesh, Bhutan

Boiga guangxiensis (southern China [Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region], northern and central Vietnam southward up to Tay-Nguyen Plateau, Gia-Lai Province], central part of eastern Laos

Boiga irregularis (Indonesia [Kai Islands, Goram, Seram, Ambon, Buru, Sula, Sulawesi, Sangihe, Halmahera, Morotai, Ternate, Batjan, Salawati, Aru Islands, Misool, Schouten Islands], New Guinea [Papua New Guinea and Irian Jaya, Indonesia], Solomon Islands, eastern Australia [Queensland, New South Wales])

Boiga jaspidea (Thailand, peninsular Malaysia, Singapore, Penang Island, Indonesia [Nias, Mentawai Islands, Sumatra, Bangka, Borneo, Java])

Boiga kraepelini (China [Taiwan, Hainan, Fujian, Guangxi, Guangdong, Guizhou, Sichuan], northern and central Vietnam and, reportedly, adjoining Laos)

Boiga multifasciata (Himalayan region in northern and eastern India, Nepal, Bhutan)

Boiga multomaculata (southern China [Hainan, Hong Kong, Yunnan, Guangxi], Myanmar, Indochina [Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia], eastern India, Bangladesh, Indonesia [Sumatra, Java, Sulawesi])

Boiga nigriceps nigriceps (Thailand, Malaysia (Malay Peninsula and Borneo], Indonesia [Simalur, Nias, Sumatra, Borneo, Java])

Boiga nigriceps brevicaudata (Indonesia [Mentawai Islands])

Boiga nuchalis (India, southern Nepal)

Boiga ocellata (northern peninsular Malaysia, Thailand, southern Vietnam, Cambodia, Myanmar, Bangladesh, eastern India

Boiga ochracea ochracea (Bhutan, eastern India, Bangladesh, Myanmar)

Boiga ochracea stoliczkae (Nepal, northern India [Darjeeling (West Bengal) and Sikkim]; Bangladesh)

Boiga ochracea walli (Southern Myanmar, Andaman and Nicobar Islands)

Boiga philippina (Philippine Islands [Luzon])

Boiga quincunciata (Myanmar, eastern India)

Boiga schultzei (Philippine Islands [Palawan])

Boiga saengsomi (southern Thailand [Trang and Krabi provinces])

Boiga trigonata trigonata (Sri Lanka, India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh)

Boiga trigonata melanocephala (Iran, Afghanistan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, western Pakistan)

Boiga wallachi (Andaman and Nicobar Islands)

(Orlov & Ryabov 2002 and references therein)


Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 (CC BY 3.0)

© Leo Shapiro

Supplier: Leo Shapiro

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!