Brief Summary

Read full entry

Enhydris snakes belong to the family Homalopsidae, a monophyletic group composed of semi-aquatic and mainly nocturnal snakes. Around three quarters of Enhydris species are associated with freshwater and a quarter associated with saltwater. They are usually associated with mud substrates. Enhydris are distributed from Pakistan and the Indian subcontinent across Southeast Asia to northern Australia. The genus Enhydris as originally delineated is now recognized to be polyphyletic (Voris et al. 2002; Karns et al. 2010 and references therein). As more narrowly defined by Murphy & Voris (2014), Enhydris includes just six species (E. chanardi, E. enhydris, E. innominata, E. jagorii, E. longicauda, and E. subtaeniata), which are collectively found from eastern India and Sri Lanka eastward to the Indochinese Peninsula.

Based on new data on their phylogenetic relationships, many species formerly included in Enhydris have been split into different genera (see Murphy and Voris 2014 for technical details and references). For example, for the following former Enyhdris species known from Myanmar:

Blanford's Mud Snake: Enhydris maculosa is now Gyiophis maculosa

Voris' Mud Snake: Enhydris vorisi is now Gyiophis vorisi

Boie's Mud Snake: Enhydris plumbea is now Hypsiscopus plumbea

Siebold's Mud Snake: Enhydris sieboldi is now Ferenia sieboldi


Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 (CC BY 3.0)

© Leo Shapiro

Supplier: Leo Shapiro

Belongs to 1 community


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!