Brief Summary

The platyrrhines exhibit the following distinctive features: outward facing nostrils, twelve premolars (three per toothrow), and a non-tubular ectotympanic ear bone. With the exception of the Alouatta genus, New World Monkeys lack trichromatic color vision. The platyrrhines are native to South America and are the smallest primates in the Anthropoid suborder. 

Phylogenetic context: Today, primates are split into two major suborders: Strepsirrhini (lemurs, galagos, lorises, and pottos) and Haplorhini (tarsiers, New World Monkeys, Old World Monkeys, and apes). The Haplorhini suborder is further divided into three parvorders: Catarrhini (Old World Monkeys and apes), Platyrrhini (New World Monkeys), and Tarsiiformes (tarsiers). 

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 (CC BY 3.0)

© Abigail Nishimura

Supplier: Abigail Nishimura


Article rating from 0 people

Default rating: 2.5 of 5


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!