Sometimes taxonomists create new names for groups that already have a name. They may do this because they are unaware of the original name, or they may think the organism before them belongs to a different group when in fact it does not. If two or more names are found to apply to the same group, they are considered synonyms. In most cases, the first name takes priority and is considered to be the valid or accepted name. However, there can be exceptions, and it's not always easy to determine which of a series of synonyms should be considered valid or accepted. Here we list the synonyms provided to EOL by our classification partners. We also include other versions of the name that most likely refer to the same group, for example, misspellings in the literature or different variations of the authorship associated with the name.

Preferred marks the preferred name from each source.

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)

Name Relationship
Squalus Linnaeus, 1758 Preferred
Koinga Whitley, 1939 Junior synonym
Acanthias Leach, 1818


Name Relationship
Squalus Linnaeus, 1758 Preferred
Squalus blainvilii (Risso, 1827) Synonym
Squalus cepedii Lesson, 1831
Squalus montalbani Whitley, 1931
Squalus canis Forster, 1777
Squalus borealis Scoresby, 1820
Squalus norvegianus Blainville, 1825
Squalus carolinensis Blainville, 1816
Squalus licha Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus nicaeensis Risso, 1810
Squalus scymnus Voigt, 1832
Squalus maou Lesson, 1831
Squalus rondeletii Risso, 1810
Squalus adscensionis Osbeck, 1765
Squalus alopecias Gronow, 1854
Squalus jacksonii Suckow, 1799
Squalus labiatus Bleeker, 1855
Squalus philippinus Smith & Radcliffe, 1912
Squalus edentulus Brünnich, 1768
Squalus caeruleus Blainville, 1816
Squalus brevirostris Tanaka, 1917
Squalus lamia Blainville, 1816
Squalus tiburo Poey, 1860
Squalus peregrinus Blainville, 1810
Squalus isodus Macri, 1819
Squalus rashleighanus Couch, 1838
Squalus wakiyae Tanaka, 1918
Squalus selanonus Leach, 1818
Squalus americanus Mitchill, 1815
Squalus lixa Larrañaga, 1923
Squalus pennanti Walbaum, 1792
Squalus littoralis Lesueur, 1818
Squalus macrodus Mitchill, 1818
Squalus porosus Poey, 1861
Squalus terraenovae Richardson, 1836
Squalus squamosus Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus varius Seba, 1759
Squalus elegans Blainville, 1825
Squalus malleus Shaw & Nodder, 1796
Squalus uyato Rafinesque, 1810
Squalus hinnulus Blainville, 1825
Squalus albomaculatus Plucàr, 1846
Squalus canis Mitchill, 1815
Squalus acronotus Poey, 1860
Squalus plumbeus Nardo, 1827
Squalus cuvier Péron & Lesueur, 1822
Squalus glaucus Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus platycephalus Tenore, 1809
Squalus spinax Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus philippi Bloch and Schneider, 1801
Squalus philippinus Shaw, 1804
Squalus fasciatus Hermann, 1783
Squalus waddi Bloch & Schneider, 1801
Squalus maculatus Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus lobatus Bloch & Schneider, 1801
Squalus indicus Gmelin, 1789
Squalus gronovianus Shaw, 1804
Squalus ferox Risso, 1810
Squalus vulpinus Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus nasus Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus vittatus Shaw, 1798
Squalus cepedianus Péron, 1807
Squalus anisodon Lacepède, 1802
Squalus kirki Phillipps, 1931
Squalus achantias Latreille, 1804
Squalus mustelus Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus catulus Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus ustus Duméril, 1824
Squalus commersonii Blainville, 1816
Squalus jacksoni Suckow, 1799
Squalus vulgaris Richardson, 1836
Squalus monensis Shaw, 1804
Squalus cirratus Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus stellaris Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus isabella Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus wattsii Meyer 1793
Squalus tyberinus Bonaparte, 1841
Squalus lamia Blainville, 1825
Squalus cetaceus Gronow, 1854
Squalus russellianus Blainville, 1816
Squalus carcharias Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus griseus Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus longimanus Poey, 1861
Squalus spathula Walbaum, 1792
Squalus elephas Lesueur, 1822
Squalus striatus Forster, 1844
Squalus barbatus Gmelin, 1789
Squalus oculatus Banks & Solander, 1827
Squalus canicula Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus infernus Blainville, 1825
Squalus varium Seba, 1758
Squalus tentaculatus Shaw, 1804
Squalus tigrinus Gmelin, 1789
Squalus africanus Gmelin, 1789
Squalus centrina Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus arcticus Faber, 1829
Squalus whitleyi Phillipps, 1931
Squalus punctulatus Lacepède, 1800
Squalus edentulus Chiereghini, 1872
Squalus asper Merrett, 1973
Squalus carcharis Gunnerus, 1766
Squalus maximus Gunnerus, 1765
Squalus brevipinna (Müller & Henle, 1839)
Squalus vulpes Gmelin, 1789
Squalus obtusus Poey, 1861
Squalus rhinophanes Péron, 1807
Squalus pristis Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus barbouri Howell Rivero, 1936
Squalus pantherinus Kuhl & van Hasselt, 1852
Squalus squatina Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus tasmaniensis Howell Rivero, 1936
Squalus gunnerianus Blainville, 1810
Squalus pelegrinus Blainville, 1810
Squalus vacca Bloch and Schneider, 1801
Squalus probatovi Myagkov and Kondyurin, 1986
Squalus punctatus Bloch & Schneider, 1801
Squalus acutipinnis Regan, 1908
Squalus brucus Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus dentatus Blainville, 1816
Squalus rostratus Macri, 1819
Squalus fernandinus Molina, 1782
Squalus spinosus Gmelin, 1789
Squalus microcephalus Bloch and Schneider, 1801
Squalus cornubiensis Pennant, 1812
Squalus prionurus Otto, 1821
Squalus fulgens Bennett, 1840
Squalus galeus Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus ocellatus Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus semisagittatus Shaw, 1804
Squalus isabella Gmelin, 1789
Squalus appendiculatus Shaw, 1806
Squalus argus Bancroft, 1832
Squalus perlo Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus tiburo Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus tygrinus Bonnaterre, 1788
Squalus cirrosus Gronow, 1854
Squalus fasciatum Hermann, 1783
Squalus caecchia Nardo, 1847
Squalus sucklii (Girard, 1855)
Squalus griffini Phillipps, 1931
Squalus cornubicus Gmelin, 1789
Squalus platyodon (Poey, 1860)
Squalus suckleyi (Girard, 1855)
Squalus annulatus Nilsson, 1832
Squalus obscurus Lesueur, 1818
Squalus tuberculatus Bloch & Schneider, 1801
Squalus granulosus Bloch and Schneider, 1801
Squalus antiquorum Leach, 1818
Squalus delarochianus Blainville, 1816
Squalus caudatus Gronow, 1854
Squalus rhinoceros DeKay, 1842
Squalus niger Gunnerus, 1763
Squalus longicaudus Gmelin, 1789
Squalus spallanzani Péron & Lesueur, 1822
Squalus colax Meuschen, 1781
Squalus maculatus Bloch & Schneider, 1801
Squalus blainvillei (Risso, 1827)
Squalus americanus Gmelin, 1789
Squalus portusjacksoni Meyer, 1793
Squalus homianus Blainville, 1810
Squalus zygaena Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus cinereus Gmelin, 1789
Squalus tigrinus Forster, 1781
Squalus unicolor Blainville, 1816
Squalus acanthis Linnaeus, 1758
Squalus vulpes Berkenhout, 1789
Squalus mitsukuri Jordan & Snyder, 1903
Squalus malleus (Valenciennes, 1822)
Squalus niger Broussonet, 1788
Squalus achantias Linnaeus, 1758


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!