Brief Summary

Read full entry

The Monilophyta is composed of the horsetails, whisk ferns, and eusporangiate and leptosporangiate ferns, with most of the roughly 12,000 monilophyte species being leptosporangiate ferns. The monilophytes are believed to be the sister group to the seed plants. The clade composed of the monilophytes + seed plants is known as Euphyllophyta. The sister group to Euphyllophyta is Lycophyta (the clubmosses, spikemosses, and quillworts). The lycophytes and euphyllophytes together comprise the vascular plants (Tracheophyta).

Monilophyta is similar to the traditional group known as the pteridophytes (ferns and fern allies), which consisted of all the seedless vascular plants. However, the lycophytes were considered pteridophytes but are excluded from the monilophytes since the remaining "pteridophytes" (which now constitute Monilophyta) are believed to be more closely related to the seed plants than they are to the lycophytes.


Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 (CC BY 3.0)

© Leo Shapiro

Supplier: Leo Shapiro

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!