Lithobates areolatus areolatus — Overview

Southern Crawfish Frog learn more about names for this taxon


Read full entry

Lithobates areolatus areolatus is found in the central to southern region of the United States. There are 3 subspecies of R. areolata. They are R. a. areolata (crawfish frog), R. a. circulosa (crayfish frog), and R. a. aesopus (gopher frog). The different subspecies of R. areolata are found in generally the same area, around the Mississippi Valley. Rana areolata areolata is found in the states of Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Ohio, Indiana, Tennessee, and Kansas. Rana areolata circulosa is found in the states of Oklahoma, Missouri, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, and Tennessee. Rana areolata aesopus is found in Florida.

Biogeographic Regions: nearctic (Native )


Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial Share Alike 3.0 (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)

© The Regents of the University of Michigan and its licensors

Source: Animal Diversity Web

Belongs to 0 communities

This taxon hasn't been featured in any communities yet.

Learn more about Communities


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!