IUCN threat status:

Least Concern (LC)


Read full entry

Subspecies and Distribution:

    * flammaxillaris (Blyth, 1845) - Myanmar, Thailand, Indochina (except N) and N Peninsular Malaysia (S to Penang and Kuantan); probably W to SE Bangladesh. * rhizophorae (Swinhoe, 1869) - S China (S Yunnan, Guanxi, Guangdong, Hainan I) and N Vietnam. * andamanicus (Hume, 1873) - Andaman Is. * proselius Oberholser, 1923 - N Nicobar Is (Car Nicobar). * blanfordi (Stuart Baker, 1921) - Katchal and Kondol (Nicobars). * klossi (Richmond, 1902) - Nicobar Is (except Car Nicobar, Katchal and Kondol). * ornatus Lesson, 1827 - C & S Malay Peninsula (S of Penang and Kuantan), Sumatra and most satellites, Borneo, Java, Bali and Lesser Sundas (except Sumba, Timor and some small islands), probably also Tanimbar Is. * polyclystus Oberholser, 1912 - Enggano I, off W Sumatra. * obscurior Ogilvie-Grant, 1894 - N Philippines (N Luzon). * jugularis (Linnaeus, 1766) - Philippine Is (except N Luzon, SW and Sulu Is). * aurora (Tweeddale, 1878) - SW Philippines (Calauit, Busuanga, Culion, Dumaran, Palawan, Ursula, Balabac, Lumbucan), including islands in N Sulu Sea (Agutaya, Cuyo, Cagayancillo). * woodi (Mearns, 1909) - Sulu Archipelago (Balukbaluk, Jolo, Dammai, Simaluc, Siasi, Tawi-Tawi, Sanga Sanga, Bongao, Papahag, Simunul, Manuk Manka, Sitanki, Omapoy, Sibutu, Tumindao, Saluag, Tres Islas), in S Philippines. * plateni (A. W. H. Blasius, 1885) - Talaud Is, Sangihe I, Siau I, and Sulawesi (including Manadotua, Manterawu, Bangka, Togian Is and Salayar). * robustirostris (Mees, 1964) - Banggai Archipelago and Sula Is (off E Sulawesi). * infrenatus E. J. O. Hartert, 1903 - Butung, Hoga I and Tukangbesi Is, off SE Sulawesi. * teysmanni Büttikofer, 1893 - islands in Flores Sea (Tanahjampea, Kalao, Bonerate, Kalaotoa and Madu). * frenatus (S. Müller, 1843) - N Moluccas (Morotai, Halmahera, Ternate, Mare, Moti, Kayoa, Bacan, Obi and Gomumu, possibly also Bisa) E to New Guinea (except N coastal region), Aru Is, D’Entrecasteaux Archipelago and NE Australia (N & E Queensland). * buruensis E. J. O. Hartert, 1910 - Buru, in S Moluccas. * clementiae Lesson, 1827 - Boano, Seram, Ambon, Saparua, Nusa Laut and Watubela Is. * keiensis Stresemann, 1913 - Kai Is. * idenburgi Rand, 1940 - N New Guinea (R Mamberano system E to R Ramu drainage). * flavigastra (Gould, 1843) - Bismarck Archipelago and Solomon Is.


Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial Share Alike 3.0 (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0)

© New Guinea Birds

Source: Birds of Papua New Guinea

Belongs to 1 community


EOL content is automatically assembled from many different content providers. As a result, from time to time you may find pages on EOL that are confusing.

To request an improvement, please leave a comment on the page. Thank you!