使用条款

生命大百科目的是在一个开放的、自由接入并可信的数字化资源中通过收集、整合及共享知识来增加对现今自然的认识和理解。通过使用EOL,您接受并同意履行下列条款和条件:

科学社区和一般公众建设EOL

我们一起可以使得EOL成为最好的、最全面的生物多样性信息源。

任何注册用户帐户的人都是EOL的成员。一个EOL审核人是EOL赋予了某种能力的成员,例如标识EOL的内容为“信任的”和“不信任的”,或者隐藏一些内容等。审核人向EOL提供相应的证书以获得这些能力。一个EOL内容合作者是一个个人或组织,它们希望通过EOL再次共享内容。

l   任何大于13岁的人都可以注册成为EOL会员来利用机会向EOL贡献内容,并使用站点的其它教会能力。想要注册,请访问registration page

l   任何EOL成员能够注册成为一个EOL审核人来评审EOL的内容,具体受制于EOL社区指定成员的申请。想要申请,在registration page创建一个帐户并访问EOL个人信息中心。

l   访问page 学习如何区分审核和未审核的内容。

 查看完整版的帮助建设EOL的途径,请访问contribute页面。

EOL内容对公众是免费可用的

l   EOL的内容和网站在不同的规则下可用,这依据您正在进行的处理。

l   EOL欢迎您在这些条款下访问和使用它的网站。

l   EOL邀请您重新使用或链接到EOL上的内容,如Copyright and Linking Policy中所描述。EOL致力于清楚地为在EOL上信息的来源评级并呼吁它的访问者引用和访问原始来源。

l   EOL邀请成员通过email,在物种页的评论及通过收藏和社区的交流来提供返回意见。未审核的内容在用户界面将继续被指定为“未审核”。

l   EOL致力于建立一个开放的收藏。简而言之,所有您在EOL共享的信息必须至少在一种许可证下与世界其它地方共享。请阅读Copyright and Linking Policy获取更多信息。

l   EOL保留对提交内容调整的权利,如Curation Standards and Community Conditions所述。EOL成员可以被赋予权力来标记EOL内容为不恰当的或需要改进的。

链接

链接是改进搜索和在不同站点间连接的重要特点。EOL邀请链接如Copyright and Linking Policy所述。

隐私

通过使用EOL,您同意EOL可能收集、使用和公开您提供的信息,如Privacy Policy所述。

免责申明

l   出现在EOL的确定名称,标题,商标,服务标记和logos等已登记或未登记标记属于EOL合作成员,EOL内容提供者或第三方。除合理使用之外,在没有拥有人许可的情况下,您不能使用这些商标。 没有商标所有者清晰的书面许可,在EOL上没有什么应该被解释为准许任何证书来使用任何显示在EOL上的商标。

l   如果您因为对EOL上的内容不太信任或未经您的许可发布在网上(您是商标的所有人)而有异议,请联系secretariat@eol.org并提供您的联系信息,在EOL上正在工作的相关链接内容,一个关于您是商标所有人的称述或代理及其它支持您所有权的证据。

l   提供了“as is”的内容没有授权,不是明示就是默示,包括但不限于适销性的默示授权, 特殊用途的合适性和非侵犯。EOL不对由于您使用EOL或从EOL下载的任何内容发上的损害负责任。如果您需要专门的建议(例如:医生或兽医)请寻找一位在这个领域有知识的专家。

l   EOL保留随时改变使用条款的权利并且没有必要通知;改变应该有效地公布。请有规律地检查更新。EOL强制任何这些条款的失败不应该视为对这些条款的放弃。

l   通过使用EOL,您使用时的表现和保证将与使用条款一致,包括正当使用。您接受起因于或与使用EOL相关的所有主张,请求权,辩解,费用(包括合理的律师费),判决,债务,损失,及损害赔偿方面的保护,防御,无害化持有EOL

l   这些使用条款及其修订应该按适当的联邦法律和哥伦比亚区的法律管理,不考虑法律之间的冲突。任何情况下,起因于这些条款的争论,诉讼,行动及事项应该在合适的联邦法定进行。

Terms of Use

The Encyclopedia of Life aims to increase awareness and understanding of living nature by gathering, generating and sharing knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource. By using EOL you accept and agree to abide by the following terms and conditions:

The Scientific Community and the General Public Build EOL

Together we can make EOL the best, most comprehensive source for biodiversity information.

Anyone who registers for a user account is an EOL Member. An EOL curator is a member who is given certain abilities by EOL, for example to mark content in EOL as "trusted" and "untrusted", and who can also hide content from view. Curators present credentials to EOL in order to receive these abilities. An EOL Content Partner is an individual or organization that shares content for redisplay by EOL.

  • Anyone 13 years or older can register to become an EOL member in order to take advantage of opportunities to contribute content to EOL and use other interactive capabilities of the site. To register, visit the registration page.
  • Any EOL member can register to become an EOL curator in order to review EOL content, subject to review and approval of their application by designated members of the EOL community. To apply, create an account on the registration page, then visit your EOL profile.
  • Visit this page to learn how to distinguish between reviewed and unreviewed content.

For a full description of the many ways you can help build EOL, visit the contribute help page.

EOL Content is Freely Available to the Public

EOL makes its content and website available to you under different rules, depending on what you are doing with the content and website.

  • EOL welcomes you to visit and use its website subject to these Terms of Use.
  • EOL invites your reuse of or linking to the content on EOL as described in the Copyright and Linking Policy. EOL is committed to clearly crediting the sources of the information on EOL and urges its visitors to cite and visit the original sources.
  • EOL invites members to provide feedback via, email, comments on taxon pages, and communications through collections and communities subject to the Community Conditions. Unreviewed content will continue to be designated as "unreviewed" in the user interface.
  • EOL is committed to building an open access collection. In short, all information you share with EOL must also be shared with the rest of the world under at least one of the creative commons licenses that allow re-use. Please read the Copyright and Linking Policy for more information.
  • EOL reserves the right to moderate submitted content as described in the Curation Standards and Community Conditions. EOL members will be offered the ability to flag EOL content as inappropriate or in need of improvement.


Linking is an important feature that facilitates searching and making connections among websites. EOL invites linking as described in the Copyright and Linking Policy.


By using EOL, you agree that EOL may collect, use and disclose information that you provide as described in the Privacy Policy.


  • Certain names, titles, trademarks, service marks, and logos that appear on EOL are registered or common law (unregistered) marks owned by EOL consortium members, EOL content providers, or third parties. With the exception of fair use, you may not use such trademarks without the owner’s prior written permission.  Nothing on EOL shall be construed as granting any license to use any trademark displayed on EOL without the express written permission of the owner of the trademark.
  • If you have any complaints or objections to content posted on EOL because it was not properly credited or it was posted without permission and you are the copyright or trademark owner, please contact EOL at secretariat@eol.org and provide your contact information, a working link to the relevant content on EOL, a statement that you are the copyright owner or the owner's agent, and links or other evidence supporting your claim of ownership.
  • The Content is provided “as is” without a warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to the implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular use, and/or non-infringement. EOL shall not be responsible or liable for any damage that may occur due to your use of EOL or downloading any Content from EOL. If you need specific advice (for example, medical or veterinarian) please seek a professional who is licensed or knowledgeable in the appropriate field.
  • EOL reserves the right to change these Terms of Use from time to time without notice; changes shall be effective upon posting. Please check back regularly for updates. Failure of EOL to enforce any of these terms shall not constitute a waiver of such terms.
  • By using EOL, you represent and warrant that your use will be consistent with these Terms of Use, including fair use. You agree to indemnify, defend and hold EOL harmless from all claims, causes of action, allegations, costs, expenses, fees (including reasonable attorneys’ fees), judgments, liabilities, losses, and damages arising from or relating to your use of EOL.
  • These Terms of Use and any amendments or revisions shall be governed by applicable federal law and the laws of the District of Columbia, without regard to its conflict of laws principles. Any case, controversy, suit, action, or proceeding arising out of, in connection with, or related to these Terms of Use shall be brought in the appropriate federal court.

August 2011