مقدمة الحشرات-الصور-النشرات الصوتية-التشكيلات

ما هي الحشرات؟

Life Cycle of a Monarch Butterfly
تصوير:Caterpillar. Albert P. Bekker, CalPhotos, CC BY-NC-SA; Chrysalis. Hectonichus, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA; Monarch Butterfly. Armon, Wikimedia Commons. CC BY-SA

مقدمة

تكون الحشرات الغالبية العظمى من أنواع الحيوانات على كوكب الأرض، بحوالي مليون نوع تم تسميته وما قد يصل إلى عدة أضعاف ذلك الرقم من الأنواع التي لم يتم تسميتها بعد. وتعد الحشرات مجموعة ناجحة للغاية، حيث تتواجد الحشرات في جميع المواطن البرية ومواطن المياه العذبة تقريبًا، بدءًا من أكثر الصحاري جفافًا وصولاً إلى مستنقعات المياه العذبة، وبدءًا من الطبقة الوسطى بالغابات المطيرة المدارية (حيث تتنوع أنواعها تنوعًا مذهلاً)، وصولاً إلى نفايات القطب الشمالي كما تضم الحشرات بضعة أنواع بحرية. وتتنوع كذلك عادات الحشرات الغذائية، حيث تتغذى بعض أنواع الحشرات على أي مادة ذات قيمة غذائية تقريبًا.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتنوع الحشرات تنوعًا كبيرًا من حيث المظهر والشكل. وربما يكون حجم الجسد الكبير للغاية هي السمة الوحيدة تقريبًا التي لا تنطبق على تلك المجموعة. ومع ذلك، هنالك عدة سمات تنطبق على أغلب أنواع الحشرات الحية. وتضم تلك السمات، إلى جانب السمات العامة لأحاديات الشعبة، جسد يتكون من ثلاث أجزاء من العُقل(Tagmata)؛ وهي الرأس، والصدر، والبطن، وزوج من العيون الكبيرة المركبة وثلاثة أعين بسيطة (Ocellus) متواجدة بالرأس عادة، وزوج من قرون الاستشعار، بالرأس أيضًا، كما تتكون أجزاء الفم من الشفة العليا، وزوج من الفكوك العليا، وزوج من الفكوك السفلى، وبلعوم سفلي يشبه اللسان، وزوج من الأجنحة، والتي تمتد من جدار الجسد (بعكس أجنحة الفقاريات)، وثلاثة أزواج من الأرجل المستخدمة في السير.

وتمتلك الحشرات جهاز هضمي كامل ومعقد. وتتنوع أجزاء الفم بالحشرات بصورة خاصة، وغالبًا ما يرتبط ذلك بطريقة معقدة بعاداتها الغذائية. و"تتنفس" الحشرات عبر جهاز تنفس يضم قصبة هوائية، وفتحات خارجية للتنفس (Spiracles) وأنابيب صغيرة متشعبة بدقة تحمل الغازات إلى الأنسجة المسئولة عن الأيض مباشرة. وقد تتبادل الأنواع البحرية الغازات عبر جدار الجسد أو أن يكون لها أنواع عديدة من الخياشيم. ويتم إخراج الفضلات النيتروجينية عبر أنابيب مالبيجي. ويتسم الجاز العصبي للحشرات بالتعقيد، حيث يضم عدد من العقد العصبية وحبل عصبي بطني مزدوج. وتؤدي العقد العصبية وظائفها بصورة مستقلة تمامًا، على سبيل المثال، يمتلك الجزء الصدري المنفصل القدرة على السير. ومع ذلك، تستخدم العقد العصبية المخرجات الحسية. على سبيل المثال، يستطيع الجندب تعويض خسارة أحد أجنحته والاستمرار في الطيران، عن طريق مدخلات حسية من المخ، حيث أن الأعضاء الحسية حادة ومعقدة. وبالإضافة إلى الأعين البسيطة والأعين المركبة، تمتاز بعض الحشرات بحساسية شديدة للأصوات، كما تتمتع بقدرات اسشعار كيميائية مذهلة.

تنتمي الحشرات إلى الكائنات ثنائية الجنس ويحدث التلقيح داخل الجسم في معظم الأحيان. وعلى الرغم من ذلك، تتنوع طرق التزاوج تنوعًا كبيرًا. ولقد عززت دراسة علماء الأحياء التطورية لذلك التنوع من فهمنا لتطور السلوك، والتطور الاجتماعي، وسمات مثل عدد وحجم صغار الحشرات وأنماط رعايتها. وفي أغلب الأحيان، تشتمل عملية تكاثر الحشرات على ذكر يقوم بتحديد موقع أنثى مُستقبلة عبر مواد كيميائية (الفيرومونات) تطلقها الأنثى. وفي غالبية الأنواع، تقوم الإناث بتخزين الحيوانات المنوية في تجويف خاص ببطونها؛ وتتزاوج الإناث مرة واحدة فقط وتعتمد على الحيوانات المنوية المخزنة خلال عملية التزاوج لبقية حياتها، حتى بالأنواع التي تضع عدد ضخم من البيض (كنحلة العسل، والتي قد تضع ما يفوق المليون بيضة).

وتعد طريقة نمو الحشرات أحد السمات الهامة. ففي بعض الأنواع، يخرج من البيض حشرات بالغة بأحجام صغيرة، ويتوجب على تلك الحشرات الصغيرة فقدان هيكلها الخارجي في عملية تدعى الإنسلاخ لتنمو. ولكن فيما يقدر بنسبة 90% من أنواع الحشرات، يختلف شكل الصغار حديثة الخروج من البيض عن الحشرات البالغة اختلافًا كليًا. وعادة ما تعيش تلك الأشكال اليرقية في مواطن مختلفة، وتتناول أنواع مختلفة من الغذاء، وتتخذ شكل جسماني مختلف تمامًا عن والديها. وتتغذى اليرقات وتنمو، وتنسلخ عن جلودها بصورة دورية. ويكتمل نمو اليرقة في مرحلة ما، وتتوقف عن تناول الغذاء وتبدأ في بناء كيس أو شرنقة حول نفسها. وتدعى الحشرات التي تمر بتلك الحالة التي لا تتغذى بها العذراء أو الخادرة. وخلال تغليفها بالشرنقة، تمر اليرقة بتحول كامل أو "استحالة" لشكل جسدها، وتخرج حشرة كاملة البلوغ. ويطلق على الحشرات التي تمر بذلك التغير الكامل حشرات "كاملة الانسلاخ"، بينما تمر بعض الأنواع الأخرى بعملية أكثر تدرجًا، حيث تشبه الصغار التي خرجت من البيض حديثًا الحشرات البالغة ولكن بحجم أصغر، وبدون أجنحة، وتكون غير ناضجة جنسيًا، كما قد تختلف بطرق أخرى أقل أهمية. ويدعى صغار تلك الحشرات حوريات، كما يُعرف أسلوب حياتها باعتباره "جزئي الانسلاخ."

وللحشرات قيمة هائلة بالنسبة للبشر. وعادة، يضع الإنسان الحشرات في سياق سلبي؛ فهي تأكل غذائنا، وتتغذى على دمنا وجلدنا، وتلوث مساكنا، وتنقل أمراض رهيبة. ولكن الإنسان لا يستطيع الحياة بدون الحشرات، حيث تعد أحدى الركائز الأساسية للنظام الإيكولوجي. وتضم قائمة مختصرة وغير كاملة للأدوار الإيجابية التي تلعبها الحشرات تلقيح الكثير، وربما غالبية النباتات الوعائية، وتحليل المواد العضوية، وتيسير عملية إعادة تدوير الكربون، والنيتروجين، ومغذيات أساسية أخرى، والتحكم في تعداد أنواع اللافقاريات الضارة (بما في ذلك الحشرات، والانتاج المباشر لبعض الأغذية (مثل العسل)، وتصنيع منتجات مفيدة مثل الحرير وصَمغ اللَّك.

References

  1. Hickman, C.P. and L. S. Roberts. 1994. Animal Diversity. Wm. C. Brown, Dubuque, IA.
  2. Brusca, R. C., and G. J. Brusca. Invertebrates. 1990. Sinauer Associates, Sunderland, MA.
  3. Pearse, V., J. Pearse, M. Buchsbaum, and R. Buchsbaum. 1987. Living Invertebrates. Blackwell Scientific Publications, Palo Alto, Ca..

Animal Diversity Web

ذلك المقال مأخوذ من
شبكة تنوع الحيوانات.

الاستشهاد
مايرز ب. 2001. "الحشرات" (على شبكة الإنترنت)، شبكة تنوع الحيوانات. استُعرض في 26 سبتمبر 2012. http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/site/accounts/information/Insecta.html

مصدر المقال

المؤلف:

فيل مايرز

الأراء والتعليقات

في حال وجود أي أسئلة أو تعليقات أو ملاحظة أخطاء، يرجى إخطارنا عبر زيارة صفحة الاتصال بنا واختيار "التعلم والتعليم".

What is an Insect?

Insects

Insects
Photo Credit: Turquoise Shield Bug (Edessa rufomarginata)
by Bernard Dupont, Flickr: EOL Images. CC BY-NC-SA 

Introduction

With around one million named species and perhaps several times that number unnamed, insects account for a great majority of the species of animals on earth. They are a tremendously successful group. Insects can be found in almost all terrestrial and freshwater habitats, from the driest deserts to freshwater ponds, from the canopy of a tropical rainforest (where their diversity is unbelievably great) to the arctic wastes. A few species are even marine. Their feeding habits are similarly varied; almost any substance that has nutritive value is eaten by some group of insects.


Insects also show huge variety in shape and form. Almost the only condition their group does not attain is very large body size. A number of features, however, are shared by most kinds of living insects. In addition to the general characteristics of uniramians, these include a body composed of three tagmata, a head, thorax, and abodmen; a pair of relatively large compound eyes and usually three ocelli located on the head; a pair of antennae, also on the head; mouthparts consisting of a labrum, a pair of mandibles, a pair of maxillae, a labium, and a tonguelike hypopharynx; two pairs of wings, derived from outgrowths of the body wall (unlike any vertebrate wings); and three pairs of walking legs.

Insects have a complete and complex digestive tract. Their mouthparts are especially variable, often complexly related to their feeding habits. Insects "breathe" through a tracheal system, with external openings called spiracles and increasingly finely branched tubules that carry gases right to the metabolizing tissues. Aquatic forms may exchange gases through the body wall or they may have various kinds of gills. Excretion of nitrogenous waste takes place through Malpighian tubules. The nervous system of insects is complex, including a number of ganglia and a ventral, double nerve cord. The ganglia are largely independent in their functioning; for example, an isolated thorax is capable of walking. Yet ganglia also use sensory output. A grasshopper with one wing removed can correct for this loss and maintain flight, using sensory input from its brain. Sense organs are complex and acute. In addition to ocelli and compound eyes, some insects are quite sensitive to sounds, and their chemoreceptive abilities are astounding.

Insects are dioecious and fertilization is internal in most. The ways in which mating is accomplished, however, are incredibly variable; study of this variability by evolutionary biologists has greatly advanced our understanding of the evolution of behavior, social evolution, and traits such as number, size of young and patterns of investment in them. Reproduction by insects often involves a male locating a receptive female through chemicals (pheromones) released by the female. In most species, females store the sperm in a special receptacle in their abdomens; even species that lay huge numbers of eggs (in honeybees, for example, the number may be over one million), females mate only once and rely on sperm stored during that mating for the rest of their lives.

The manner in which growth is accomplished is an especially important characteristic of insects. In some, hatching eggs produce miniature adults, which to grow must shed their exoskeleton in a process called ecdyisis. In almost 90% of insect species, however, newly hatched young are completely different in appearance from adults. These larval forms usually live in different habitats, eat different foods, and assume a body form completely different from that of their parents. The larva feeds and grows, molting its skin periodically. At some point larval growth is completed, the larva stops feeding and builds a case or cocoon around itself. In this nonfeeding condition it is called a pupa or chrysalis. While so encased, the larva undergoes a complete transformation or "metamorphosis" of its body form, and a fully-formed adult emerges. Insects that experience this sort of complete change are called "holometabolous." Other species undergo a more gradual process, in which the newly hatched young are more similar to the adult but are small in size, lack wings, are sexually immature, and may differ in other, relatively minor ways as well. The young in these insects are called nymphs, and the lifestyle is referred to as "hemimetabolous."

Insects are incalculably valuable to man. Usually, we think of them in a negative context. Insects eat our food, feed on our blood and skin, contaminate our dwellings, and transmit horrible diseases. But without them, we could not exist. They are a fundamental part of our ecosystem. A brief and incomplete list of their positive roles would include the pollination of many, perhaps most higher plants; the decomposition of organic materials, facilitating the recycling of carbon, nitrogen, and other essential nutrients; the control of populations of harmful invertebrate species (including other insects); the direct production of certain foods (honey, for example); and the manufacture of useful products such as silk and shellac.

References

  1. Hickman, C.P. and L. S. Roberts. 1994. Animal Diversity. Wm. C. Brown, Dubuque, IA.
  2. Brusca, R. C., and G. J. Brusca. Invertebrates. 1990. Sinauer Associates, Sunderland, MA.
  3. Pearse, V., J. Pearse, M. Buchsbaum, and R. Buchsbaum. 1987. Living Invertebrates. Blackwell Scientific Publications, Palo Alto, Ca..

Animal Diversity Web

This article was adapted from
Animal Diversity Web.

Citation
Myers, P. 2001. "Insecta" (On-line), Animal Diversity Web. Accessed September 26, 2012. http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/site/accounts/information/Insecta.html